There are currently no videos. Check back soon.
Family Of The Year

Family Of The Year

Hollis Brown

Sun · April 21, 2019

Doors: 7:00 pm / Show: 8:00 pm

$20.00 - $22.00


This event is 18 and over


Family Of The Year
Family Of The Year
Family Of The Year—Joe [vocals, guitar] & Sebastian Keefe [drums, vocals], James Buckey [guitar, vocals], and Christina Schroeter [keyboards, vocals]—quietly captivate with a combination of idyllic instrumentation and emotional storytelling. Following 2009’s Songbook, they toured relentlessly and organically attracted a devout fan base. 2012 saw them release Loma Vista. In the aftermath, the musicians earned praise from the likes of USA Today, Entertainment Weekly, Billboard, Interview Magazine, and Paste in addition to performing on Jimmy Kimmel LIVE!, Conan, and more. Its breakout single “Hero” would figure prominently in the trailer and soundtrack for the Academy® Award-nominated and Golden Globe® Award-winning drama Boyhood and surpass 190 million Spotify streams. Coming off the road in late 2015 in support of the self-titled Family of the Year, they began crafting what would become their fourth full-length led by the 2018 singles, “Hold Me Down” and “Let Her Go”. Written and recorded throughout 2016 and 2017, the album represents a philosophical shift and creative breakthrough for the group. Emerging from personal and professional turmoil, the band return with their most hypnotic and heartfelt body of work yet.
Hollis Brown
Hollis Brown
Hollis Brown is an American Rock ‘n’ Roll band. Named after a Bob Dylan song (“The Ballad of
Hollis Brown”), the band was formed by Queens-natives and songwriters Mike Montali (lead
vocals/guitar) and Jonathan Bonilla (lead guitar). Both 2nd-generation immigrants
(Italian-American and Puerto Rican-American, respectively), they soon found their musical
brethren across America, recruiting Andrew Zehnal (drums) from Cleveland, and Adam Bock
(keyboard/vocals) from St. Louis.
Hollis Brown’s latest single “Run Right To You” was released on 7” vinyl in October 2016 on
Velvet Elk/One Little Indian records. Their song “Steady Ground” is a featured exclusive on
Amazon’s playlist Amazon Acoustics. The band’s vinyl EP, Cluster of Pearls (Alive Naturalsound
Records), was chosen as one of the 300 select releases throughout the world for Record Store
Day 2016. Pressed on Starburst Vinyl, the record is limited to 800 copies and features four
previously unreleased tracks and two songs released on vinyl for the first time. It was released
digitally on iTunes in August 2016. Cluster of Pearls follows up the 2015 release of Hollis
Brown’s third album 3 Shots (Jullian Records/RED), featuring the Bo Diddley collaboration “Rain
Dance,” and the duet “Highway 1” with acclaimed alt-country songstress Nikki Lane.
The independent act has achieved a significant amount of success since their formation in
2009. They released their debut album Ride On The Train on Alive Naturalsound in 2013
(produced by Adam Landry), garnering song and video premieres from Rolling Stone, Paste,
and American Songwriter, along with music placements in the worldwide trailer for the Michael
Keaton film “The Founder,” the Willem Dafoe/Matt Dillon film “Bad Country,” Direct TV’s
“Kingdom”; Showtime’s “Shameless,” MTV’s “Real World,” and an online ad campaign for
Abercrombie & Fitch.
Following a Lou Reed tribute concert in NYC, Alive Naturalsound asked the band to record a
tribute to the Velvet Underground’s classic album Loaded, as a limited-edition vinyl release for
Record Store Day 2014. Hollis Brown Gets Loaded took on a life of its own, with airplay on
influential radio stations, resulting in a full CD & digital release.
The band has toured extensively in America and Europe, headlining and supporting such bands
as The Counting Crows, Citizen Cope, The Zombies, Jackie Greene, Heartless Bastards, Rich
Robinson of Black Crowes, and Jesse Malin, and building an impressive fan base on both
Mascot Label Group has announced the signing of Hollis Brown to a global recording agreement
with Cool Green Records. Their next album will be released on June 7, 2019.
Venue Information:
Mercy Lounge
1 Cannery Row
Nashville, TN, 37203